Tags

, , ,

It has now been years that every time I mention Berlusconi, the BBF asks me to explain what are Italians thinking when they vote him.

Since he writes on the online community Politics Worldwide he is being harrassing me, begging me to write a piece to explain Italian politics to foreigners.

Last week I desperately needed to keep my head busy otherwise my best friend anxiety would have taken charge. So I finally find the courage and the incentive to do it. The BBF even wrote an introduction for me.

Making sense of Italian Politics – Part 1: Not him again?

What is going on in Italy: a short and simple guide to the country’s political spectrum for the puzzled foreign observer.

I can imagine their faces. It must have seemed like yesterday to foreign offices around the world – after twenty years Italy finally managed to get rid of that skin-lifted, over-tanned, bunga-bungaing (yes, I had to get that word in!) buffoon and to replace him with a sensible, competent, credible politician – someone they could finally do business with. And now, after just over a year, Italy wants to send off Super Mario and field Berlusconi again?? This makes no sense!

Well, in the distorted game of Italian politics, it all makes (almost) perfect sense.

Read more…