Tags

, ,

Muffin

I know. Is the week before Christmas and common sense would want us to be dieting to prepare for the food marathon of 24-25-26 December (yep people. That’s how we do Christmas in Italy, or at least in my family. We don’t just eat on the 25, we also eat at Christmas Eve and Boxing Day. A lot). But I have an excuse.

And, oh boy, it is good.

I met a special person, that decided to help me with something really important to me right now, even if she just met me once. Muffins are not much (especially if they don’t turn out all perfect, mpfffff!) but showing at her door not empty-handed was the minimum I could do to show how much I appreciate what she is doing for me.

For these muffins you’ll need this things:
Ingredients lemon muffin

  • 130 gr sugar
  • 330 gr flour
  • 170 gr butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 110 gr plain yoghurt or sour cream
  • 250 ml milk
  • 1 big lemon (juice and zest)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tbs poppy seeds

In a bowl mix all the liquids: eggs, lemon juice, yoghurt, milk and vanilla extract. Whisk until well combined.

ingredienti3

In another bowl mix the powders: first flour and baking powders, then sugar, lemon zest and pinch of salt.

Add the butter, softened and cut into small cubes. Combine using a fork or a wooden spoon. You don’t need to create a smooth, creamy batter, the important thing is that you don’t have any big chunk of butter left.

Now make a well in the centre, add the liquids and combine together. Muffin batter need to be mixed as little as possible, just enough to make it uniform. Now add the poppy seed and mix.

impasto

before

Fill in 12 muffin case and cook in a pre-heated oven at 180° for 20-25 minutes.

Voilà!

IMG_0605

Muffin solo